There might be cases when the supplier leaves the (Oberlo Marketplace or AliExpress) platform or no longer has the product in stock. If the product is no longer available, you will see the corresponding message on its page. You will find some recommendations below, what you should do if such situations happen.

Manage Products

Look for the same product from a different supplier and override it. By doing this, you will be able to continue selling this product in your Shopify store, but just purchasing it from another supplier. When you will be looking for another product to replace, do not forget to check its shipping options to make sure the new supplier offers the needed ones.

If you did not find product replacements, we recommend deleting these products from your Shopify store so that your customers will not see and will not be able to purchase them.

Manage Orders

Check your Orders page to see if you have orders that contain products that are no longer available. 

If you have overridden these products as mentioned in the 1st recommendation, then you will be able to successfully place these orders with the new supplier. However, if you do not find a product replacement, you should cancel these orders in Shopify and issue refunds to your customers.

Be Aware of the Changes

Review your auto update settings in Oberlo to make sure their options meet your needs. You can ask Oberlo to remove the product variant or unpublish the product from your Shopify store. By doing this, your customers will not be able to purchase that product from your Shopify store anymore. 

You can also choose the “Set Quantity To Zero” option to keep the product (variant), but show it as out of stock.

Otherwise, if you are sure that you will find the product replacement and will override it, you can leave the option as “Do nothing” and let your customers buy this product from your store. In this way, you will not lose the opportunity to get sales.

To monitor the products that are no longer available, we recommend marking the checkbox ''Notify Me''. Once you enable the setting, you will start getting notifications on the Oberlo > Notifications page, where you will either be able to override the product or delete it. 

Related Articles

Did this answer your question?